Just Starting - Need Advice

Forum How-to's, questions or issues and the site slang database.
bigpappa1
beginner
beginner

Just Starting - Need Advice

Post by bigpappa1 » June 17th, 2019, 8:00 am

Hello All,

This site is awesome, I'm glad I found it. I really could use your help in deciding which direction to go, and how to get there.

I've been smoking for about 10 years now. I do it all on my WSM, but I'm ready to move up a notch. I would like to get into a stick burner and embrace the process even more. I have looked at buying one, but I'm not sure the budget is going to be there, and I don't want anything light/cheap. I think that with the proper guidance, I could build one (and maybe learn a lot in the process), though there are definitely some challenges. Here is a breakdown of the basic pros and cons, plus what I am trying to achieve:

Smoker desired:
Stick burner, probably a horizontal offset, open to traditional of RF, with no less than around 800 sq. in. of cooking space.

Resources:
I work at a shop where we have welders, a brake press, CNC plasma cutter, and hoists. I can also probably burn up some scrap steel we have sitting around for odds and ends.

Challenges: