It's time.

Also called Stump's Clone.
JKalchik
Expert
Expert
Title: Member
BBQ Comp Team Name: Not competing yet...

It's time.

Post by JKalchik » March 30th, 2018, 8:40 am

I pulled the trigger on the double pan plans last weekend, and dropped the data off at a local shop to see about getting steel last night. Almost time to start making sparks... I've been using a leaky horizontal offset smoker for a few years with a HeaterMeter (which improved the food GREATLY, I can't recommend this device enough... but I digress,) and it's time to replace it. After Will & John (from the HeaterMeter forum) posted up about their gravity feds, the light came on, that's the style I need to go with. I'd considered everything from the mini to the double pan, and the only real cost difference is up front for me, there's practically no difference in operational cost. BUT..... if I want to cook a lot of food, I can't to that in a mini, yet I can just smoke a single chicken in either a mini or a double pan. In short, I can't use volume that I don't have.

I am going to weld up a fixturing table (pics to come over in the fabrication forum) to help get this monster built up & keep it square.

One quick question about insulation. The plans call for 1.5" rigid board mineral wool insulation, the wall cavities are all made out of 2" square tubing. Isn't this going to be a bit of a loose fit?

This is what I've been able to turn out with my leaky smoker. Planning on doing better, and it looks like between now and July 4th..... there may be a whole lotta meat going through it.

Edit: Oops.... missed the 2MB pic size limit. I'll resize these tonight and post them up.

"Measure with micrometer, mark with chalk, cut with fireaxe." Ted M., USCG (ret)
"Smoked pork. It belongs in me." Giles L

Dirtytires
Expert
Expert
Title: It ain't broke...yet
BBQ Comp Team Name: Dont compete...cook for events once in a while

Re: It's time.

Post by Dirtytires » March 30th, 2018, 10:25 am